Couple Vows: Waste-Free for a Year

Source: Flickr user D'Arcy Norman

Source: Flickr user D'Arcy Norman

Amy and Adam in Dallas, Oregon decided to go completely waste-free for a year. This summer they began a pledge to produce zero garbage for a year as an example of how small changes in our behavior can create large scale change if many of us act. They estimate they’ll keep one and a half tons out of the landfill this year. Multiply that by whole communities and the numbers add up quickly.

Here are a few of the things they’re doing to eliminate their garbage:

  • Avoid non-recyclable items
  • Recycle everything possible
  • Reusable bags for shopping
  • Start compost bin in backyard
  • Use only recyclable batteries
  • Grow their own produce
  • Make items such as bread, cheese, butter, granola and soap
  • Shop locally at the butcher, dairy and direct from farmers
  • Donate reusable items to thrift stores

A few things are trickier to recycle such as medical waste, cat litter and toothpaste tubes which they address. Originally spotted the couple’s story on TerraPass.com and you can check out Amy and Adam’s blog Green Garbage Project and watch their progress. They also have a valuable Tips and Tricks section.

2 responses to “Couple Vows: Waste-Free for a Year

  1. This is absolutely excellent! I just moved to Cairo and people here produce a hell of a lot of waste… Including me right this second.

    I can see 6 1.5 ltr plastic bottles (empty) on my table. I have been leaving them there to remind me how much waste I am producing in just a few days. So will be working hard to cut this down.

    As for compost, I live in an apartment but I am trying to get hold of some worms so I can have my own work compost under my sink.

    PS, thanks for following me on Twitter too.

    Forest.

  2. Pingback: If You Are Planning on Living Green, Try The Green Eco Club | Going Green Blog

Leave a Reply

